It’s five years to the day since our fantastic new Wing building was opened – and the Trust is still making improvements to the site and its surroundings.
Her Majesty The Queen, accompanied by HRH The Duke of Edinburgh, opened The Wing in 2015, unveiling the exciting Scramble Experience, the Geoffrey Page Centre, a bigger and brighter shop and our fantastic first floor cafe with unbeatable views across the Channel to France.
Since then the Trust has kept busy, replacing the worn squadron badges on the National Memorial to the Few with new ones in black granite to match the Christopher Foxley-Norris Memorial Wall and repurposing the former visitor centre, Hunting Lodge, as a library and resource centre.
Today, five years on from the opening, a new pedestrian gate arrived to match the recently installed main gates that once stood at RAF Biggin Hill and have been refurbished and hung from smart new brick piers.
Sadly the main gates remain closed as our car park is out of bounds following the government’s advice on the coronavirus crisis, but the pedestrian gate will remain unlocked for those who want to pay their respects to the men of the Royal Air Force who braved so much in 1940.
If you do visit the external Memorial area, please make full use of our spacious site and keep well clear of other visitors. And remember that with The Wing and car park closed we are in desperate need of funds. Please contribute via the collection box or donate here: http://ow.ly/olh950yPOlM